Monday, January 28, 2013

Champagne and Cherries

I've told (very few) people about my blog, but that people that I HAVE mentioned it too look at me like I'm high when I say the name of my blog is "Champagne and Cherries."
Let me explain.
Both are things that, in my life, have held some personal meaning to me.
Champagne is obvious: it's a luxury. It's something to indulge in. When I was a kid, I saw fancy people in movies who were living the high life, sipping champagne at sparkling parties on New Years. But it's also more than that. Yeah, when I was a kid, champagne was all about glam. Now, it means something more. The best way to describe it, is the fruits of your labor. It's relaxing in style, without worry.
Cherries, maybe, aren't so obvious. Cherries are simple. Where I live, cherries grow in abundance. They're the natural (and literal) fruits of life.
This might not make any sense to you, dear reader. The other thing I can liken it to is this: New York City, and Mayberry. My utopia is an even split between the two places. The bright lights and the porch-sittin'. It's what I want most in life-- the best of both worlds.
It seems like my whole life has been about the dichotomy, but hey, I'm a Gemini, so I guess I'm living up to my astrological persona. I've never been a huge extrovert, but I have had to figure out how to be happy living between what I want and what I need.
So as I randomly sort my thoughts on both, I'll but them here. The champagne and the cherries; As I figure out how to have them both, and find the balance.
Sorry for the disjointed post. I'll write a more (and with better flow) later...

Monday, January 21, 2013

No clever title...

and no clever first-post for this blog. I'll be honest: I'm blogging because I'm a bit bored, but I have a lot to say. After years of being too busy to really have any motivation to do anything not required by life, school, or work, I'm finally at a point in my life where I finally have nothing to do.
I hear myself talking about my theories on life all the time. I figure maybe someone out there will be remotely entertained by my quasi-philosophical chatter. Couple that with boredom, and BOOM! A blog is born. Not quite like "a star is born," but I'll do my best.
Now that I have more time to do my thang, I'm hoping to do some personal growth. Nothing huge (I'm not looking to be completely self-aware), but I do think I, and the rest of the universe, could do with a little enlightenment. Baby steps, folks. For me, that means doing things like reading more. Meditating, maybe...if I can ever figure out how the hell someone meditates.
Really, I'm a girl (a Woman, if you will) that enjoys the good life. I enjoy shopping, good cocktails, the bubbly, a good mani pedi every now and then. I work hard, though. I'll be damned if that's all there is. This is my journey towards the Good Life. That's with CAPITOL letters, because it's more than what money can buy. It's peace, it's satisfaction, it's bliss. It's balance, and that's frickin' hard to find. How do we get there?